Chesterfield County Public Library

All Categories

 1 2 3 >Last ›

    The Room Where It Happened

    The Room Where It Happened

    John Bolton

    JOHN BOLTON READS THE EPILOGUE!As President Trump's National Security Advisor, John Bolton spent many of his 453 days in the room where it happened, and the facts speak for themselves. The result is a White House memoir that is the most comprehensive and substantial account of the Trump Administration, and…

    more...

  • The Beauty in Breaking

    The Beauty in Breaking

    Michele Harper

    "Riveting, heartbreaking, sometimes difficult, always inspiring." —The New York Times Book ReviewAn emergency room physician explores how a life of service to others taught her how to heal herself.Michele Harper is a female, African American emergency room physician in a profession that is overwhelmingly male and white. Brought up in…

    more...

  • The Beauty in Breaking

    The Beauty in Breaking

    Harper, Michele

    “Riveting, heartbreaking, sometimes difficult, always inspiring.” —The New York Times Book Review

    An emergency room physician explores how a life of service to others taught her how to heal herself.


    Michele Harper is a female, African American emergency room physician in a profession that is overwhelmingly male and white. Brought up in…

    more...

  • Begin Again

    Begin Again

    Eddie S. Glaude Jr.

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERJames Baldwin grew disillusioned by the failure of the civil rights movement to force America to confront its lies about race. In our own moment, when that confrontation feels more urgently needed than ever, what can we learn from his struggle? "In the midst of an ugly…

    more...

  • Room Where It Happened

    Room Where It Happened

    Bolton, John

    As President Trump’s National Security Advisor, John Bolton spent many of his 453 days in the room where it happened, and the facts speak for themselves. The result is a White House memoir that is the most comprehensive and substantial account of the Trump Administration, and one of the few…

    more...

  • Begin Again

    Begin Again

    Jr., Eddie S. Glaude

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • James Baldwin grew disillusioned by the failure of the civil rights movement to force America to confront its lies about race. In our own moment, when that confrontation feels more urgently needed than ever, what can we learn from his struggle?

    We live, according to Eddie…

    more...

  • All Boys Aren't Blue

    All Boys Aren't Blue

    Johnson, George M.

    This program is read by the author.

    In a series of personal essays, prominent journalist and LGBTQIA+ activist George M. Johnson explores his childhood, adolescence, and college years in New Jersey and Virginia. From the memories of getting his teeth kicked out by bullies at age five, to flea marketing with…

    more...

  • Little Legends

    Little Legends

    Vashti Harrison

    New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Vashti Harrison shines a bold, joyous light on black men through history.An important book for readers of all ages, this engagingly written volume brings to life true stories of black men in history. Among these biographies, readers will find aviators and artists, politicians and pop…

    more...

  • Who Was Coretta Scott King?

    Who Was Coretta Scott King?

    Gail Herman

    The wife of Martin Luther King Jr., Coretta Scott King was a civil rights leader in her own right, playing a prominent role in the African American struggle for racial equality in the 1960s.Here's a gripping portrait of a smart, remarkable woman. Growing up in Alabama, Coretta Scott King graduated…

    more...

  • Becoming Brianna

    Becoming Brianna

    Terri Libenson

    National bestselling author Terri Libenson returns with another endearing, relatable story of friendship and finding confidence. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer L. Holm. Middle school is full of challenges. Everyone knows how much brainy Bri likes the spotlight (not). So why did she ever agree to something…

    more...

  • The Meltdown

    The Meltdown

    Jeff Kinney

    When snow shuts down Greg Heffley's middle school, his neighborhood transforms into a wintry battlefield. Rival groups fight over territory, build massive snow forts, and stage epic snowball fights. And in the crosshairs are Greg and his trusty best friend, Rowley Jefferson. It's a fight for survival as Greg and…

    more...

  • Nat Enough

    Nat Enough

    Maria Scrivan

    Making friends isn't easy, but losing them is even harder!Natalie has never felt that she's enough — athletic enough, stylish enough, or talented enough. And on the first day of middle school, Natalie discovers that things are worse than she thought — now she's not even cool enough for her…

    more...

  • The Bad Guys in the Big Bad Wolf

    The Bad Guys in the Big Bad Wolf

    Aaron Blabey

    "I wish I'd had these books as a kid. Hilarious!" — Dav Pilkey, creator of Captain Underpants and Dog ManThey may look like Bad Guys, but these wannabe heroes are doing good deeds...whether you like it or not! This New York Times bestselling illustrated series is perfect for fans of…

    more...

  • When Stars Are Scattered

    When Stars Are Scattered

    Victoria Jamieson

    Heartbreak and hope exist together in this remarkable graphic novel about growing up in a refugee camp, as told by a Somali refugee to the Newbery Honor-winning creator of Roller Girl.Omar and his younger brother, Hassan, have spent most of their lives in Dadaab, a refugee camp in Kenya. Life…

    more...

  • Shuri

    Shuri

    Nic Stone

    An original, upper-middle-grade series starring the break-out character from the Black Panther comics and films: T'Challa's younger sister, Shuri! Crafted by New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone.Shuri is a skilled martial artist, a genius, and a master of science and technology. But, she's also a teenager. And a princess.…

    more...

  • Stepping Stones

    Stepping Stones

    Lucy Knisley

    This contemporary middle-grade graphic novel about family and belonging from New York Times bestselling author Lucy Knisley is a perfect read for fans of Awkward and Be Prepared. Jen is used to not getting what she wants. So suddenly moving the country and getting new stepsisters shouldn't be too much…

    more...

  • Doodleville

    Doodleville

    Chad Sell

    For fans of Svetlana Chmakova's Awkward and Raina Telgemeier's Smile comes an inventive new story from Cardboard Kingdom creator Chad Sell about a group of young artists who must work together when one of their own creations becomes a monster.Drew is just a regular artist. But there's nothing ordinary about…

    more...

  • Mexican Gothic

    Mexican Gothic

    Silvia Moreno-Garcia

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERAn isolated mansion. A chillingly charismatic aristocrat. And a brave socialite drawn to expose their treacherous secrets. . . . From the author of Gods of Jade and Shadow comes "a terrifying twist on classic gothic horror" (Kirkus Reviews) set in glamorous 1950s Mexico—"fans of classic novels…

    more...

  • A Beautifully Foolish Endeavor

    A Beautifully Foolish Endeavor

    Green, Hank

    Who has the right to change the world forever? 
    How will we live online? 
    How do we find comfort in an increasingly isolated world?
     
    The Carls disappeared the same way they appeared, in an instant. While the robots were on Earth, they caused confusion and destruction with only their…

    more...

  • A Beautifully Foolish Endeavor

    A Beautifully Foolish Endeavor

    Hank Green

    Who has the right to change the world forever? How will we live online? How do we find comfort in an increasingly isolated world? The Carls disappeared the same way they appeared, in an instant. While the robots were on Earth, they caused confusion and destruction with only their presence.…

    more...

  • New eBooks

New eBooks