Longview Public Library

All Categories

 1 2 3 >Last ›

    Educated

    Educated

    Tara Westover

    #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • An unforgettable memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University"A coming-of-age memoir reminiscent of The Glass Castle."—O: The Oprah Magazine "Tara Westover is living proof that some people…

    more...

  • All-American Murder

    All-American Murder

    James Patterson

    The world's most popular thriller writer presents the definitive, never-before-told account of the Aaron Hernandez case.Everyone thought they knew Aaron Hernandez. He was an NFL star who made the game of football look easy. Until he became the prime suspect in a gruesome murder. But who was Aaron Hernandez, really?Rich…

    more...

  • I'll Be Gone in the Dark

    I'll Be Gone in the Dark

    Michelle McNamara

    Introduction by Gillian FlynnAfterword by Patton Oswalt"I'll Be Gone in the Dark will undoubtedly be stocked in the True Crime section, which is fine, but in so many ways it's a brilliant genre-buster. It's propulsive, can't-stop-now reading, which makes it all too easy to ignore the clean and focused writing.…

    more...

  • Everything Happens for a Reason

    Everything Happens for a Reason

    Kate Bowler

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • "A meditation on sense-making when there's no sense to be made, on letting go when we can't hold on, and on being unafraid even when we're terrified."—Lucy Kalanithi Kate Bowler is a professor at Duke Divinity School with a modest Christian upbringing, but she specializes…

    more...

  • The Only Girl in the World

    The Only Girl in the World

    Maude Julien

    For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, a memoir to be read in one breathless sitting that will leave you astonished by the courage and creative power of even the most neglected soul. Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into…

    more...

  • The Monk of Mokha

    The Monk of Mokha

    Dave Eggers

    The Monk of Mokha is the exhilarating true story of a young Yemeni American man, raised in San Francisco, who dreams of resurrecting the ancient art of Yemeni coffee but finds himself trapped in Sana'a by civil war. Mokhtar Alkhanshali is twenty-four and working as a doorman when he discovers…

    more...

  • Believe Me

    Believe Me

    Eddie Izzard

    New York Times Bestseller"Izzard is one of the funniest people alive, a talented actor, a sharp cross-dresser, an experienced marathon runner, and a great writer. You will have to read this if only to find out what a jazz chicken is."—The Philadelphia InquirerWith his brand of keenly intelligent humor that…

    more...

  • L'Appart

    L'Appart

    Lebovitz, David

    Bestselling author and world-renowned chef David Lebovitz continues to mine the rich subject of his evolving ex-Pat life in Paris, using his perplexing experiences in apartment renovation as a launching point for stories about French culture, food, and what it means to revamp one's life. Includes dozens of new recipes.

    more...

  • I Am, I Am, I Am

    I Am, I Am, I Am

    Maggie O'Farrell

    "I Am I Am I Am is a gripping and glorious investigation of death that leaves the reader feeling breathless, grateful, and fully alive. Maggie O'Farrell is a miracle in every sense. I will never forget this book."—Ann PatchettAn extraordinary memoir—told entirely in near-death experiences—from one of Britain's best-selling novelists,…

    more...

  • The Line Becomes a River

    The Line Becomes a River

    Francisco Cantú

    The instant New York Times bestseller, "A must-read for anyone who thinks 'build a wall' is the answer to anything." —EsquireFor Francisco Cantú, the border is in the blood: his mother, a park ranger and daughter of a Mexican immigrant, raised him in the scrublands of the Southwest. Haunted by…

    more...

  • A Higher Loyalty

    A Higher Loyalty

    James Comey

    In his forthcoming audiobook, A Higher Loyalty, former FBI director James Comey shares his never-before-told experiences from some of the highest-stakes situations of his career in the past two decades of American government, exploring what good, ethical leadership looks like, and how it drives sound decisions. His journey provides an…

    more...

  • The Year of Less

    The Year of Less

    Cait Flanders

    In her late twenties, Cait Flanders found herself stuck in the consumerism cycle that grips so many of us: earn more, buy more, want more, rinse, repeat. Even after she worked her way out of nearly $30,000 of consumer debt, her old habits took hold again. When she realized that…

    more...

  • Bachelor Nation

    Bachelor Nation

    Amy Kaufman

    INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERThe first definitive, unauthorized, behind-the-scenes cultural history of the Bachelor franchise, America's favorite guilty pleasure.For fifteen years and thirty-five seasons, the Bachelor franchise has been a mainstay in American TV viewers' lives. Since it premiered in 2002, the show's popularity and relevance has only grown—more than…

    more...

  • Heart Berries

    Heart Berries

    Terese Marie Mailhot

    A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Selected by Emma Watson as the Our Shared Shelf Book Club Pick for March/April 2018 A New York Times Editor's Choice A Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Selection "A sledgehammer. . . . Her experiments with structure and language . . . are…

    more...

  • Personal History

    Personal History

    Katharine Graham

    As seen in the new movie The Post, here is the captivating, inside story of the woman who helmed the Washington Post during one of the most turbulent periods in the history of American media.Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for BiographyIn this bestselling and widely acclaimed memoir, Katharine Graham, the…

    more...

  • Jefferson's Daughters

    Jefferson's Daughters

    Kerrison, Catherine

    The remarkable untold story of Thomas Jefferson’s three daughters—two white and free, one black and enslaved—and the divergent paths they forged in a newly independent America

     

    Thomas Jefferson had three daughters: Martha and Maria by his wife, Martha Wayles Jefferson, and Harriet by his slave Sally Hemings. In Jefferson’s…

    more...

  • This Is Me

    This Is Me

    Chrissy Metz

    #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERAn inspirational book about life and its lessons from the Golden Globe and Emmy nominated star of NBC's This Is Us.When This Is Us debuted in fall 2016, a divided America embraced a show that celebrates human connection. The critically acclaimed series became America's most watched—and…

    more...

  • Text Me When You Get Home

    Text Me When You Get Home

    Kayleen Schaefer

    "Text Me has the thrills and laughs of a romantic comedy, but with an inverted message: 'There just isn't only one love story in our lives,' Schaefer writes. If you're lucky, friends will be the protagonists in these multiple love stories. It's high time that we start seeing it that…

    more...

  • Principles

    Principles

    Dalio, Ray

    #1 New York Times Bestseller



    “Significant...The book is both instructive and surprisingly moving.” —The New York Times



    Ray Dalio, one of the world’s most successful investors and entrepreneurs, shares the unconventional principles that he’s developed, refined, and used over the past forty years to create unique results in both life…

    more...

  • When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing

    When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing

    Pink, Daniel H.

    Instant New York Times Bestseller#1 Wall Street Journal Business BestsellerInstant Washington Post Bestseller\"Brims with a surprising amount of insight and practical advice.\" --The Wall Street JournalDaniel H. Pink, the #1 bestselling author of Drive and To Sell Is Human, unlocks the scientific se...

    more...

  • New eBooks

New eBooks